Mine was prettier.

I spent between four and five hours one day setting up this app I had purchased for the purpose of organizing my homeschool. It’s an app for teachers and has a grade book and class roster and attendance sheet, etc. IT DOES EVERYTHING! for the low, low price of $30!

Except be useful.

It used iCal to set up the schedule, which I did when prompted and when I wrangled and worked and struggled and cursed and STILL couldn’t get the lesson planner part of this app to work right, I just entered my lesson plan into each “event” in iCal. I got everything completed through the end of 2011.

Then the app wanted me to “sync the calendar” which I was hesitant to do, but what the heck, I’d bought this app to help streamline my school year.

Yeah, well. The app sync’d the iCal stuff incorrectly and DELETED EVERYTHING from iCal in the process. All that work was gone, and since Time Machine had encountered an error first thing that morning? No backup. Yeah.

I cried. A lot.

So I started again. Things went faster this time because I didn’t have to look through every single book and read lessons to decide what to do when. I was able to plug the info into the calendar again. I only did the first four weeks of school, which takes us up to our first break.

Then I tried to eliminate the messed up schedule out of the app and…

My Hero!

Yeah, it DELETED EVERYTHING in iCal. Again. So yeah. I’m done with that app whether it was user error or not. I am not a computer noob. I am fairly proficient tech-wise and I know enough to troubleshoot system issues if not always fix them so I really don’t think it’s that I’m too dense to figure this app out. But, you never know.

I was crying, and well, to be honest, throwing a bit of a temper tantrum about it when my husband came home from work. My brother told him that he needed to write a program for me to do the things I need. Hubs looked at me and said, “Just use Google docs and calendar. That way it’s saved off site and won’t be accidentally deleted.”

Genius.

So, that’s what I did. It’s not perfect and doesn’t do a few things that I really wish it did, but what it hasn’t done is fail to sync correctly with iCal and DELETE EVERYTHING.

